Posts tagged stage


2011 Obie Awards Bring The Talent!

The Village Voice Obie Awards annually honor the best of Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway. There are no set categories for awards, and judges select outstanding artists and productions and may even invent new categories to reward artistic merit. The 56th Annual Obie Awards were given out at a ceremony Monday, May 16, 2011 at Webster Hall in Greenwich Village. The event was co-hosted by S. Epatha Merkerson and David Hyde Pierce, and the awards were presented by Alec Baldwin, Andrew Rannells, Arian Moayad, Frank Wood, Jim Parsons, John Larroquette, Liev Schreiber, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Mamie Gummer, Margaret Colin, Nina Arianda, Patina Miller, and Rose Hemingway. Anthony Rapp, of the original cast of the Obie Award-winning musical RENT and his band from the musical Without You performed at the ceremony.

Read more 0 Comments